SOON! competition

Another new competition sees the light of day in 2022: SOON! In this competition, a jury consisting of established professionals from the cultural field will award prizes to new film makers whose first or second film has been successful at prestigious international festivals. They have a chance to win the award for Best Film. After the festival, you can (re)discover the winner on the streaming platform Sooner.

Jury members

Jury chairman Marc Lybaert directed numerous TV classics for VRT, such as Recht op recht and Heterdaad, and taught directing at RITCS. He is also the founder and artistic driving force of Theater aan Zee.

As one of the few trans directors in Belgium, Charlie Dewulf understands how important it is to address LGBTQAI+ issues directly and indirectly in projects. Among other things, Charlie made the webseries Brak with Joke De Bruyn.

Amira Daoudi is a graphic designer and art director. She lives and works in Brussels and specialises in making film posters. Since her film poster for the Academy Award-nominated film Rundskop in 2010, her portfolio keeps on growing. She now runs Studio Daoudi: an international creative communication company.

Gus & Stella are a creative duo working with photography, film and collages. Their approach to photography and film is rooted in the playful observation of everyday life.

Selection 2022


Sooner is a proud partner of the SOON! competition.